Ron Storms Leadership Award

Ron Storms Leadership Award

Nominations for the 2023 Award will be accepted beginning August 15, 2023.

Ron Storms (1944 – 2002) was one of the early leaders and proponents of electronic connectivity in agriculture. He was active in numerous industry organizations including RAPID (an AgGateway predecessor organization) and The Fertilizer Institute (TFI). He had a distinguished career at CF Industries starting in 1966, and was responsible for the development and coordination of all electronic commerce activities. Ron was respected by his peers for his guidance and dedication to furthering digital connectivity in agriculture.

To honor his legacy, the Ron Storms Leadership Award was created to recognize consistent, outstanding efforts by an AgGateway volunteer member in promoting collaboration among AgGateway teams and advancing initiatives in digital agriculture. This leadership award is given annually to a member of AgGateway, and is awarded at the Annual Conference.

Award Criteria

  • Dedication to the mission to promote and enable the transition to digital agriculture.
  • Leadership in moving digital connectivity goals and activities forward
  • Ability to promote collaboration among AgGateway teams
  • Participation in AgGateway councils, committees, projects, task forces and/or working groups for at least 2 years
  • Active participation and leadership in at least 2 different activities (e.g., project participation, council/committee management, task force participation, etc.)
  • Candidate’s company must be an AgGateway member at the time of nomination.

Nomination Process

  • Nominations will be accepted between August 15 and October 13, 2023.
  • Anyone can make a nomination
  • Submit the nomination form, or provide the necessary information within an email to
  • The person nominating is asked to list at least one additional reference — a colleague who can attest to the candidate’s leadership.


Nominations will be reviewed and voted on by a panel consisting of the past three award winners.

For questions, contact Member Services at

Ron Storms Leadership Award Recipients, 2004 - 2022

2022 Joe Gifford

2021 Scott Nieman

2020 Ann Vande Lune

2019 Eric Hoefing

2018 Joe Tevis

2017 Randy Fry

2016 Dennis Daggett

2015 Lori Edwards

2014 Andres Ferreyra

2013 Andrew Jeremiah

2012 Bruce Blitch

2011 Brent Kemp

2010 Tim Piper

2009 Gary Garrett

2008 Wendy Smith

2007 Larry Buchanan

2006 Drew Gillow

2005 Dave Surber

2004 Kay Campe